Jan 25/26/27 Meteors

The mutli-day rain storm that was forecast to hit CA and AZ didn’t happen. Though the rain stayed away the past 2 nights were plagued by clouds. The Tucson camera only caught 9 meteors over the past two nights between the clouds. In San Diego, Bob was able to get one clear night in and recorded 33 meteors.

Obs  Date (UT)   TotTime TOT SPO ANT
SDG  2009-01-27  11h 38m  33  27  6

TUS – Camera in Tucson operated by Carl Hergenrother
SDG – Camera in San Diego operated by Bob Lunsford
TotTime – Total amount of time each camera looked for meteors
TOT – Total number of meteors detected
SPO – Sporadics (meteors not affiliated with any particular meteor shower)
ANT – Antihelions

3 Comments

  1. I’m in Concord, CA. I saw a meteor, 1/27/09 at approx 6:22 p.m., very bright, in the Eastern sky (to the right of Orion).

    A friend who lives in Oakland saw it too.

  2. I live about 20 miles northeast of St. Louis in a small Illinois community. Last night, around 11:00 p.m., I was outside on my deck and witnessed something in the sky that completely blew me away. I described it to my husband as a huge falling star that had a very long and bright tail. I don’t remember the color of the object itself, but the tail was a bright blue and green. It wasn’t very high up and appeared as if it would hit land somewhere nearby, perhaps the Mississippi River. As it got closer to the ground, it disintegrated in a bright blast of orange sparks, resembling fireworks. I was looking up at about a 45-degree angle in the direction of south-southwest, and the entire thing only lasted maybe 3 to 5 seconds. It was absolutely breathtaking, and I’m dying to know what it was. Any ideas?

Comments are closed.