July 6/7/8 Meteors

It cleared up for a few hours at the end of last night which allowed 5 meteors to be detected. The previous night was completely clouded out. Even after compensating for all of the cloud cover and the bright moon, there still is little sign of July’s anticipated upswing in meteor activity.

Obs  Date (UT)   TotTime TOT SPO ANT CAP
TUS  2009-07-08  02h 06m  5   4   0   1
SDG  2009-07-08  04h 14m  3   2   1   0
TUS  2009-07-07  00h 00m
SDG  2009-07-07  02h 40m  3   2   1   0
SDG  2009-07-06  02h 34m  4   4   0   0

TUS – Camera in Tucson operated by Carl Hergenrother
SDG – Camera in San Diego operated by Bob Lunsford
TotTime – Total amount of time each camera looked for meteors
TOT – Total number of meteors detected
SPOSporadics (meteors not affiliated with any particular meteor shower)
ANT – Antihelions
CAP – Alpha Capricornids

About Carl Hergenrother
I am a professional astronomer specializing in the study of comets, asteroids and meteors. This blog will focus on my professional and amateur work in this field

2 Responses to July 6/7/8 Meteors

  1. Charlotte Young says:

    Hi, I live in Northern Ireland. At 12:40am on 9th July, something caught my eye in the sky – at first I thought it was a shooting star but it was slower and bigger and had a trail of light coming out of the back of it. It glided across the sky for about 6 real time seconds and was the most amazing thing I have ever seen – my jaw dropped and stayed like that for about a minute! To people involved in astronomy this was probably fairly normal but to me it was totally amazing! Would this have been a meteor?

  2. Charlotte Young says:

    And it would have been the morning of July 9th, not sure why it says July 8th by my name. Charlotte

