Feb 18/19/20/21 Meteors

Meteor activity from last weekend followed the pattern we’ve seen for the past month or so. Rates are decent though not very high and there is little activity from any known showers.

After the storm on the night of Feb 21/22, my camera shifted its position somehow. As a result I need to recalibrate its pointing by talking a series of deep exposures and measuring the position of 50+ stars. Due to the bright evening Moon I haven’t been able to do this yet. When I do I’ll have stats for this week’s observing sessions.

Obs  Date(UT)      Time    TOT SPO ANT DLE
TUS  2010-02-21   00h 00m  Clouds - No Meteors
TUS  2010-02-20   11h 09m   12  11  1   0
TUS  2010-02-19   11h 11m   15  12  3   0

TUS - Camera in Tucson operated by Carl Hergenrother
SDG - Camera in San Diego operated by Bob Lunsford
TotTime - Total amount of time each camera looked for meteors
TOT - Total number of meteors detected
SPO - Sporadics (meteors not affiliated with any particular meteor shower)
ANT - Antihelions
DLE - Delta Leonids

About Carl Hergenrother
I am a professional astronomer specializing in the study of comets, asteroids and meteors. This blog will focus on my professional and amateur work in this field

Comments are closed.

