Dec 25/26 Meteors

Well, it has been way too long… For long time followers of the blog, I am well. My long absence from blogging was due to mostly good things (wonderful twin boys, a heavy work load at the OSIRIS-REx asteroid mission and the usual family life activities that comes with new children and a new home).

The one bad issue that kept me from blogging (at least video meteor data) was the inoperability of my cameras after moving to my new home. For some reason all 4 of my cameras ceased working properly when I tried to re-start my video network. After 2 years of buying new cameras, cables, connectors and such, I finally found the culprit. The cameras did not like the power coming out of the house and required new AC adaptors to work.

In short, my SALSA3 camera (Watec 902H2 Ultimate + 3.8mm f/0.8 lens) is back up and running after 2+ years of downtime and I hope to be posting more regularly in the future.

Last night was my first successful first night and resulted in the capture of 34 meteors. We are currently between major showers (the Geminids of mid-Dec and the Quadrantids of early January) so most of the meteors were sporadics and part of a few of the active minor showers.

Obs  Date(UT)      Time    TOT SPO ANT AHY COM DLM DSV URS
SAL  2013-12-26   08h 51m   34  24  3   3   0   2   2   0
SAL - SALSA3 camera in Tucson (Carl Hergenrother)
Time - Total amount of time each camera looked for meteors
TOT - Total number of meteors detected
SPO - Sporadics (meteors not affiliated with any particular meteor shower)
ANT - Antihelions
AHY - Alpha Hydrids
COM - Comae Berenicids
DLM - December Leonis Minorids
DSV - December Sigma Virginids
URS - Ursids

About Carl Hergenrother
I am a professional astronomer specializing in the study of comets, asteroids and meteors. This blog will focus on my professional and amateur work in this field

Comments are closed.

